Return to the Tropical Fruits Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Loquat Tree

Posted by puglvr1 9a Central FL (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 15, 10 at 19:19

Hi, we just planted a 15 gallon Loquat tree...I decided to replace my dead lychee with something I didn't have to protect next winter. I still have 5 in ground mango trees and 2 potted ones I have to protect. I figured I didn't want to add another one. These trees are very cold hardy which I really like. I planted it for a nice shade tree, if I happen to get fruits...well that's a bonus. Its a very pretty tree regardless if it fruits or not. I got it for a really awesome price too!

Does anyone know how often I should be watering it?
We're still in the upper 80's to mid 90's here with NO rain!
Thanks for any advise or help.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Loquat Tree

Nancy:

I'm no expert but am growing two at the present time and have killed a couple over the years. Standing water=death. But we have had one of the wettest winters into this summer and they seem to be doing fine even with our 3 inch rain we got a day or two ago which culminated about a week of an inch a day rains. They are very drought tolerant as well. So I don't think there is much you could do to kill your tree. I'd just do a watering a couple of times a week if there is no rain and I'm sure you'll be fine. As long as there is good drainage, more water, as long as it doesn't pool will be Ok also. Good luck!

Harry

o

thats a very healthy looking little tree. do you know if its a named cultivar?
Harrys variety "Bradenton" was by far the best loquat i have tasted yet

o

Thanks Harry for the tips/advise.

Mango kush, seems to be pretty healthy so far, hope I can keep it that way. I really doubt its a named cultivar, more than likely its a seedling? Especially for the price I paid. :o) Harry's loquat sounds delicious! I can only hope if mine ever fruits that it will be good enough to eat. Wonder how long before this one flowers?

o

Nancy,