Return to the Tropical Fruits Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help! Just acquired Caimito, Pitaya, Rollnia, Guanabana, and more

Posted by GrowItFromSeed Dominican Repub 11b (My Page) on
Fri, Sep 27, 13 at 21:51

In this picture you can see:

A cacao tree and black zapote tree that I purchased today for about $2.25 total.

A pitaya cactus, a caimito, two candongo (rollnia,) a grafted mango tree, and two guanabana, that were all gifted to me by a cool guy named Mauricio whom I met on another forum.

If anyone has any growing instructions for any of these varieties, I would much appreciate the recommendations. I am a newbie and I feel like I just got a huge introduction to the hobby. Now its time to go to work!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help! Just acquired Caimito, Pitaya, Rollnia, Guanabana, and

• Posted by soaht Central CA 9B (My Page) on
    Sat, Sep 28, 13 at 4:10

Nice assortment of plants to start your new hobby with. Very nice of the guy to have gifted you with those free plants. The rollinia is said to be one of the best annona species and it taste like lemon meringue pie. The pitaya is very refreshing and sweet, well this depends on the variety it is. Some are less sweet than other and have watery flavor. It's best to severed them cold out of the fridge chilled. Black sapote is sweet and the inside flesh of fully ripen fruits look like chocolate pudding, however, doesn't actually taste like chocolate at all. Sorry, these are just what I read about them and haven't actually tasted any of the fruits from the variety of trees you have, except mangoes. Mangoes are available everywhere and there are so many varieties, with all kind of different flavor profiles and texture.

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!

Return to the Tropical Fruits Forum

Information about Posting