Return to the Tropical Fruits Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
First coffee roasting

Posted by gnappi 10 Coral Springs Fl. (My Page) on
Fri, Oct 11, 13 at 1:48

I've been growing coffee for over 3 years and never had enough coffee cherries to get a sufficient amount to roast, grind and brew it.

This year two of my 8 bushes are producing a large crop and tonight I FINALLY made coffee. I used an old vintage Melitta roaster, a BURR grinder and brewed just like store bought.

What a surprise! it had an almost nutty flavor, and I've read that the taste changes a lot with longer or shorter roasting times.

Now when I watch TV, I busy myself pulling the skins off and preparing them for roasting. It's a PITA but worth it! When all of my bushes are producing I'll have to find a better method of husking the cherries though, any suggestions?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: First coffee roasting

How fast do they grow for you,and how much sun do they take? I have one that's two years old..but not more then 10". A seedling from Lowes. Looks nice,but slow. I wonder if part sun is too shady here? Maybe full sun.

o

• Posted by gnappi 10 Coral Springs Fl. (My Page) on
    Tue, Oct 15, 13 at 5:24

Most on the ones that are producing now were larger than yours when I bought them.

I have half in full sun and the rest in shade. The ones in sun seem to produce more and grow faster. Mine are in the ground a bit over 3 years and are 4'-5' tall.

Be patient, they take off around 3 years if they're in the ground and get enough water.

o

Do you eat the cherries? I have 3 trees about 2' tall in a pot. No flowers yet, so no fruit. I'm curious about how the cherries taste.

o

• Posted by gnappi 10 Coral Springs Fl. (My Page) on
    Tue, Oct 15, 13 at 20:58

The beans / seeds I haven't tasted but the cherry shell is sweet but insipid. I'm surprised ants don't go after them.

o