Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wizzard419

Sugar Cane Growers

wizzard419
12 years ago

Hi all, my cane is a long ways off from being large enough to harvest, but I was curious, can you harvest it at any time or is it only sweet during the last 3 months of the year?

Also, can I lop off sections at a time as I want to eat/chew them or do I need to chop down the cane to the ground lest the remainder start to decay/ferment?

Comments (5)

• TnTRobbie
    12 years ago

http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/sc052

Cane really has to be harvested when it is mature. Cut off as low as you can. In a few weeks you'll see new growth emerging from the original root stock.
    I've been growing purple cane for over 4 years and harvested it about 3 times. So yes, it is a wait.
    To maximize growth, plant it in full sun. Some recommend the use of high N fertilizer to promote growth, but sugar content suffers.
    You cant cut off sections as the top leaf part generates new growth (sugar storing sections). In my experience, when the new emerging leaves are severly damaged (insect, heavy iron/acidic sprinkler water), cane growth stops.

• wizzard419
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Ah, all right. When you harvest, or at least previously, do you use any sections as seed for new plants? I've been reading that you can take segments of the cane with bud growth on them and (at harvest time) simply stick them in the ground or water and they will start to root.

• TnTRobbie
    12 years ago

Sure did.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fPraEesXRSs&feature=related

Although this year, the younger canes from the new shoots seem slower growing than the past years ones.

If you read the first link I posted, they talk about 1 bud per segement and how it boosts the chances of sprouting young shoots. The youtube video shows this as well.

I'd like to start potting them.

http://www.chewingcane.com/our_plants.html

I think it looks very attractive and ensures that they get 8-9 hrs of full sun.