Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mangodude

Winter Heat lamp

mangodude
14 years ago

Hi, I'm trying to figure out what type of lamp to use this winter to warm my mango tree.

I've heard you can use infrared lamps but I've got no clue where to get one as I've just bought my first tree. Another person suggested Christmas lights (I've heard a lot of controversy on this one). I recently bought a lamp for my aquarium and it is a UVA/UVB lamp but it does not seem to feel warm to the touch. I'm not sure if this aquarium lamp would work or not.

I'm sorry about the very elementary question but like said, I'm new to this.

Thanks in advance,

Comments (7)

• Andrew Scott
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Whats up mangodude!
    When I was into tropicla birds my vet told me that I should buy a heat lamp for reptiles. The vet said that it puts out heat to simulate the uv rays from the sun. Maybe that light would help warm the mango? I'm in no way saying saying you should try this but maybe it would help?
    Andrew

• mostro
    14 years ago

Hi mangodude:
    I live in fl/jax and I have some very tropical things here with good success. Of course, I lived and learned like all of us...

Remember, this is just what I do! Please, don't be mad at me if your plants die or your house catches on fire...

About Christmas lights: Be very careful if you use them. The only two plants I have lost died because the Christmas lights over-heated the trunk and killed my guava about 6 inches from the ground. I had wrapped the lights on the trunk and covered it with a blanket, you should not do that... So, I just use warm water and infrared heat lamps now.

Here is what I have done to keep my mango, keylime, guava, and others alive:

1. If potted: I just bring them in the garage (no extra heat needed).
    2. Planted in ground but small: place a large bucket (5gl) of warm water right next to the trunk and cover plant with a sheet and then a blanket.