Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
socaleric

Advice on 1st Mango Tree (Kent)

SoCalEric
9 years ago

Greetings Ladies and Gents,

Very grateful to have found this forum. Just wanted to get some advice on my first mango tree. Purchase a Kent Mango from a nursery here in Riverside, CA.

I've learned that it is a Kent Mango tree from seed. It measures in at 6' with a 0.65" trunk base and has been tipped at 5'. It was in a 15g pot and i've transplanted it into a 40g pot.
My potting mixture consists of 15% sand, 40% FoxFarm Ocean Forest mix, 40% citrus/cactus potting mix, and I noticed that it has two trunks that intertwine. Will this be a problem in the future? This tree seems quite tall already. Perhaps I should buy another one (smaller) and tip it around 2-3'? This one looks like it could be a tall one.

I'm very new to this and would appreciate any feedback and not afraid of critique.

Thank You Kindly

Eric

Comments (9)

• SoCalEric
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Tipped area

• SoCalEric
    Original Author
    9 years ago

twin trunks

• SoCalEric
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Intertwined

• greenman62
    9 years ago

Well, im no expert,
    but i would be very curious as to how it would perform.
    I am thinking the twin trunks could provide an advantage as to bending in the wind, and may even produce more fruit because of it.

I am wondering if the twin trunks are from the same seed, since lots of mango are polyembryonic.
    So, 1 trunk may be the clone of the parent, and the other not.
    Or,, even possibly both are not ?
    but im no expert on mango.

• stanofh 10a Hayward,Ca S.F. bay area
    9 years ago

Two trunks is one too many..but it wont affect the health of the tree. One trunk will start to dominate. I saw a photo of Mangoes in San Diego..so close together they made one tree canopy.
    Looking at your third pic? Yeah,ones getting the edge on the other. The woody trunk is getting ahead of the still green trunk looks like.

• myamberdog