Return to the Tropical Fruits Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What's wrong with my ornamental pineapple?

Posted by mcgyvr2009i Schenectady, NY 5b (My Page) on
Fri, Nov 16, 12 at 8:43

I have bought an ornamental pineapple. It was doing fine until I watered it the first time. It was 100% dry, so I saturated the soil. I only had it for almost 2 weeks. I had it in a Northeast facing window. I'm not sure if it's the sunlight, or if it was the watering. This is my 3rd time experimenting with pineapples. I tried growing the edible kind from store bought pineapple tops but failed both times. So, now I'm experimenting with an ornamental. I'm not really good with pineapples, lol So, perhaps you can identify the problem? Thanks!

Here's a top view. You can kind of see the leaves that turned yellow and are drying up.
Ornamental Pineapple

Here's a better view, you can clearly see the problem with the leaves.
Ornamental Pineapple with visible problem

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What's wrong with my ornamental pineapple?

as a tropical plant it needs more light. you can use a high wattage CFL bulb with a reflector on a timer for a minimum of 6 hours per day.

it could also use a larger pot and well draining potting mix.

this is my indoor setup for when we get freezing temps.

o

There is a whole bromeliad forum on the site you might want to try asking in there. My short guess would be that you watered too much.

o

That is a regular pineapple that you are growing, not an different non-edible species. It was just forced to fruit at a very small size that is why the fruit is so small.

Your problem looks like either lack of light or rot caused by too much water, as both other replies have suggested.

o