Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thenear1send

Miracle fruit seeds NOT germinating!!! Help!

thenear1send
15 years ago

About 3 months ago i purchased 20 miracle fruit seeds for 18 bucks off the web, and they arived in layers of moist paper towels, and i immediately placed them some peat pots filled with 50% peat moss and 50% vermiculite, and i then set them out in the warm sun checking their temp to make sure it was fairly warm.

A week passed. Nothing. I then grinded up some elemental sulfur and scattered some of it on top of the peat pots to hopefully increase acidity.

Another week. Nothing.

I then moved them into my house for warmth. 3 weeks later, nothing.

So i have been keeping these moderatly moist for 3 months and not a single sign of germination. And as a final act of being furious. I dug up one of the pots to check the seeds.

They looked exactly as they did 3 months ago. No sign of having started germination at all.

What should i do?

Did i get totally bum seeds or what...

Thanks in advanced

Comments (7)

• ohiojay
    15 years ago

Keep them inside with bottom heat and covered to increase humidity. They can be stubborn. Don't give up on them yet.

• murahilin
    15 years ago

Whenever I plant miracle fruit seeds I just leave them alone for a few weeks and they germinate. One week usually isnt enough time for those seeds to sprout. If you would of just left them alone they probably would of sprouted if the seeds were viable. The viability isnt that long though so you do not know how long the ebay seller had those seeds before they were sold to you. I am not sure if adding that elemental sulfur would of hurt the seeds but it was not necessary. That sulfur will not aid with the germination.

• rredbbeard
    15 years ago

I've germinated a lot of MF seeds, and I find that there is some sign of life within 3-6 weeks. After 3 months, any that have not germinated are probably not viable.