Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rayandgwenn

Suggestions for eating a Black Sapote

rayandgwenn
16 years ago

I was given a beautiful large green black sapote fruit. I was told to wait until it gets soft. It is slowly getting softer and browner skin.

Any specifics as to "soft". And should it be cold for best taste?

How exactly do you eat it- scoop it out of the skin?

Comments (10)

• gcmastiffs
    16 years ago

It should be soft enough to retain the impression of a squeeze, when ripe. The interior is blackish-brown, with an odd texture. I use a fork to remove the seeds and whip/mash up the pulp with honey or orange juice concentrate. It whips up shiny and smooth, like pudding.

Unfortunately, my tree dropped its entire crop during the drought this year. I hope you enjoy your fruit!

Lisa

• rayandgwenn
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank You! That helps a lot. This is my first time tasting the fruit, so I don't want to mess it up. My own tree is getting to maturity, so I am excited. But I was given the fruit from someone who has tons of them and doesn't like them at all. I hope I like it. Either way, the tree is lovely.

Sorry about your loss, I would be heart broken if I lost all of my annual crop of any fruit. I baby some of these beauties all year.

• gcmastiffs
    16 years ago

I understand! I love my tree too, for its beauty as well as the fruit. From what I've read, the fruit is great with ice cream, or in baking. The few I've eaten were mild in flavor, but inhaled by myself and my husband. There wasn't a lot of contemplation..

I'd like to have enough to experiment with, to try all the suggested methods/recipes with..

My 10' tree was loaded with fruits early this year, but since my tree is planted on a rise(we used to have flooding here) and we had a bad drought, it dumped the baby fruits. I admit to some tears...