Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tammysf

what are your Top 5 Mango varieties?

tammysf
14 years ago

it is so awesome that we have some members that have been lucky enough to no only try but grow so many different varieties of mangoes.

what are YOUR top 5 mango variety for whatever reason? it can be the taste, productivity, disease resistence, growth habit.

name them...

i have VERY little (almost none) experience but so far my top 2 that I am getting excited about would be my lancetilla and glen.

i have not tried them yet but they are fast growers.

hopefully i will have more to add in the next few years.

Comments (132)

• jfernandez
    13 years ago

1.Bizcochuelo
    2.Manila/Manilita( Mexico Yucatan)
    3.Madame Francis
    4.Haden
    5.Mallika

• mango_kush
    13 years ago

never heard of Bizcochuelo, had to google it:

A Taste of Old Cuba: Bizcochuelo Style

The mango: no other fruit has the historic association, or is so inextricably connected with the folklore of the great people of Cuba. Since the early 1700s when the mango arrived in Cuba from Jamaica, it has been one of the nation's favorite fruits. With so many tropical fruits and abundant sugar in Cuba, you can only imagine the wonder of the 'Bizcochuelo' mango of Santiago de Cuba, a succulent fruit that you can squeeze and enjoy fresh or as a milk-shake. There are several other races of Cuban mangos. The 'Filipino' was traditional in Cuba and later was popular in Mexico, and eventualy Florida. It is a delicious mango loved to this day throughout the region. The 'Mango Chino' of the Quinta Aviles at Cienfuegos, 'Manga Mamey' well known in Havana, or the 'Manga Amarilla' and 'Manga Blanca' (the yellow and white mango, respectively) are just a few of the wondrous mangos found on the island.

Not only is Cuba blessed with the mango, nature's candy, but its culinary dishes are filled with wonderful flavors.