Return to the Tropical Fruits Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
what are your Top 5 Mango varieties?

Posted by tammysf 9b/10a or sz15/16 (My Page) on
Tue, Dec 8, 09 at 23:06

it is so awesome that we have some members that have been lucky enough to no only try but grow so many different varieties of mangoes.

what are YOUR top 5 mango variety for whatever reason? it can be the taste, productivity, disease resistence, growth habit.

name them...

i have VERY little (almost none) experience but so far my top 2 that I am getting excited about would be my lancetilla and glen.

i have not tried them yet but they are fast growers.

hopefully i will have more to add in the next few years.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: what are your Top 5 Mango varieties?

Tammy,
I am in the same boat as you, not to much experience but i am hoping to gain some knowledge from you because you are doing the same thing even though we live in diffrent zones. Can I see an update on all your mangoes? You could post it here or email me. Just curious. By the way, I am VERY pleased with Julie which I bet will make it some where in your top five list. I have never heard a bad thing about Julie's flavor, and I bet it would be a good grower for you with your lower humidity.
Andrew

o

• Posted by tammysf 9b/10a or sz15/16 (My Page) on
    Wed, Dec 9, 09 at 0:58

Hi Andrew,

let me see if i can locate the images i took of my mango trees...it was awhile ago so i may have already posted them.

this is of my glen..i wish i had pruned this right when i got it but i was pregnant and lazy....
Photobucket

this is my lancetilla...it was much taller but i cut off almost 2 feet when i got it to make it smaller and more compact.

the stem is actually around 9 inches before the first branch so the tree is taller than what it appears in this pot...the pot is only 1/2 full of soil.

Photobucket