Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
new_in_texas

New to Texas & gardening, just saying hi!

new_in_texas
17 years ago

Hi all! Just thought I would say hello and voice how informative I find this site.

I'm new to Texas, I've only been here 2 months and 3 days. I'm from Toronto, Canada so this is a whole other world for me, not just gardening wise.

Now that I have a yard to actually garden in I've have to learn how to garden! I'll be reading the wealth of info on this site and asking lots of questions, the first one is what is my zone? I've gotten 7, 7a, 8, 8a and 8b when I check online, I'm in 76901 San Angelo, TX.

Comments (20)

• natvtxn
    17 years ago

Welcome home!
    I don't know your zone, but wait a little while and someone will tell you. This really a fun group of friends...old and new.

Gardening in TX is a whole other world. If a plant tag says full sun, that does not mean in TX.

PJ will come along and help you with natives. She has been here less than a year and has had great success with her's.

• rick_mcdaniel
    17 years ago

I actually use another zone system, that is more precise, so I will have to check on the San Angelo area and then transpose to the commonly used one, and get back to you.

• rick_mcdaniel
    17 years ago

You should be in zone 7, by the usual system. Your winters get a bit colder then the DFW area.

Topographically, you are a bit higher elevation than east of I-35w.

• stitches216
    17 years ago

It's always fun and heartwarming to welcome a new neighbor! In Texas, we can say "Howdy Neighbor!" and still live 700 miles apart.

Rick gave you the zone info, and all I can add for now is encouragement to "save the water."

• jolanaweb
    17 years ago

Howdy and welcome, you're almost in my hometown. I have cousins that live almost in San Angelo, the gardening one says he's 7b
    There are plenty of people here that will be glad to help you get started.