Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
countryboy40

WANTED: New to exchanging- vegetable gardening . . .

countryboy40
18 years ago

I am new to the notion of saving/exchanging seeds to use year to year . . . Not sure how to get started so any advice for a newbie would be greatly appreciated. I've had years of sucessful vegetable gardens from store bought transplants and seeds but relish the idea of growing from seed what others care to pass on to me, saving and storing those which I would save for the next year to use and pass on. I don't have any to exchange with now but would gladly pay for any shipping if any of you would have a few extras you could send to me . . . Especially enjoy growing tomato, squash, zucchini, carrots, spinich, green beans, - all the basic delicious edibles. Thanks in advance for any replys!

Am currently reading "Growing Garden Seeds" by Robert Johnston (Johnnys Seeds)

Comments (8)

• mikeandbarb
    18 years ago

Countryboy, I don't know many on this forum that grows veggies but have seen some that grow tomatoes. The only thing I grow that my husband eats are hot peppers like Habanero, Thai and Caribbean peppers. If you like hot peppers email me and I can send you some seeds.

• sylviatexas1
    18 years ago

You might post on the Seed Exchange Forum, & I think the Vegetable Forum, Tomato Forum, & Heirloom Gardening Forum have Exchange pages.

Also, keep your eyes open for springtime Plant Swap meetings in your area:

Here near DFW, we have several gardenweb get-togethers each year, & I'll bet there are some near you as well.

Also, check your area's organic garden clubs.

Best luck, & have fun!

• leaz7b
    18 years ago

Jorge,
    Get back with me so I can get your seeds to you. Thanks, Lea

• dmj1218
    18 years ago

I do alot of seed trading (both veggies and flowers) mostly on that other well known garden forum.