Return to the Texas Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My Fires, My lovely fires.

Posted by wantonamara 8bTx (My Page) on
Sun, Dec 4, 11 at 0:19

They lifted the burn ban and I was able to burn LAST YEARS cut brush. It was scary because the grass was still pretty dry. ...Its not now. We are soggy and muddy now. I have three more piles to go and then it is this years piles.

Here is a link that might be useful: My lovely fires

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My Fires, My lovely fires.

Who's bringing the marshmellows?

o

I can't get close enough to toast anything but me. After I finish the piles I am going to burn the grass in the whole field. I have never done that before.. This will be a first for me. I did go to a workshop on it. So now, of course, I am an expert. LOL

o

I love seeing the pictures of your fires, especially on this cold morning when the pilot light is out on the heater here and the 'mulch guy/heater lighter' sleeps late ... LOL!

Those piles of brush represent a lot of work. What is the purpose for burning the grass (fresh grass growth, more wild flowers?) and what do you have in mind for the fields after you burn the grass? Although I'm a city girl I'm fascinated with what ranchers and farmers do.

Thanks again for sharing your excellent photos.

o

Lots of work thinning my stands of cedar and oaks. The Thach in the grass has gotten really thick and the new grass and wildflowers have a tough time getting through it . So, I need to burn it.

Whatever grows there is what will grow there. I might toss some seed but so far I have been unsuccessful in getting things started that did not come naturally. I am still learning. Always learning.

o

Thanks Mara. I'm for tossing the seeds and seeing what happens in the ashes :-)

o