Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cynthianovak

Genetically Modified crops

cynthianovak
12 years ago

Hey All

I am really ignorant about this topic. I read that they are frankenstein like vegetables, read that they had DDT in them. Can this be possible? What do y'all think? Does a packet of cornseed say uf ut was ir was not modified?

As you can tell I'm really ignorant and would like something simply to help me make sense of the extreme claims and accusations. Where can I start? any ideas are welcome.

c

Comments (13)

• texasflip
    12 years ago

I'm no expert either, but they shouldn't contain DDT. Genetically modified crops are spliced with genes from other organisms like bacteria, usually so they are resistant to something, not so much to make them big frankenstein vegetables.

For example Bt corn has genes from the bacteria Bacillus thuringiensis to produce a natural toxin that kills caterpillars. It's the same bacteria you can buy in a powder form to sprinkle on your plant to protect against loopers or tomato hornworms, but instead, the plant itself created the toxin. There are issues with it harming other good bugs like Monarch butterflies.

Then there are Round-up Ready plants that are modified so they aren't killed by Round-up (glyphosate). That way farmers can just blanket spray their fields to kill everything but their crop. The problem there is overuse of herbicides and the creation of resistant weeds, which is already happening.

• timintexas
    12 years ago

It is a grossly over-blown subject. People who do not truely understand the subject are the ones you usually hear from..ugh.
    Texasflip summed it up well. I might add this...in regards to Roundup Ready plants (usually soyabeans)- by being able to use glyphosate, the farmer does not need to use things such as Atrazine. This is the chem. that has contaminated water so badly in the midwest. Very scary.