Return to the Texas Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Its TIME for Winter Sowing!

Posted by melvalena North Texas 7/8 (My Page) on
Tue, Jan 1, 13 at 17:10

Yep. Its that time of year again. :)
I'm just about ready to get started. Will be taking the tree down Jan 7th. Once everything is packed up in the attic I'll get started planting.

If you are new to gardening you may not know that Winter Sowing a method of starting seeds outdoors.. not inside. You don't have to mess with lights, heat mats or building shelves. Instead you make mini green houses out of gal milk jugs, or use the larger yogurt, sour cream or cottage cheese containers--or any other similar container.

I'm no expert, but I have done it with pretty good results.
Many others here in the Texas Forum have also had good results.

Last year I had best results with: rudbeckia, swiss chard, tomatoes, indian blankets, and forget me nots. I planted lots of other stuff, but those did the best for me.

Check out this group, feel free to ask questions there or over here. Be sure to read their FAQ. Its very well written.

Here is a link that might be useful: winter sowing forum

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Its TIME for Winter Sowing!

I am going to start some seeds in all those milk jugs that take up room in the recycle bin. Tomorrow I hope to seal the grout in shed if it is decent or I can use the small heater.
I am having great success with my orchid's growing in the bathroom. One has 15 buds ready to bloom, soon.

o

I found seeds for a venus fly trap? I have seen them in places like Home Depot. Do they do okay here? My friend game them to me cause she knows I can grow most anything.
Another question do Stag Horn ferns grow okay here as well?

o

I started some seeds for winter sowing. Lunch last week was a complete blast. Enjoyed it. I want to get together with the same gals cause I missed out on some of the conversation.

o