Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carolann_z8

Question about weeping cherry tree

carolann_z8
16 years ago

I have 2 weeping cherry trees (Prunus Subhirtella Pendula) and a small limb broke off of the double weeping cherry tree. I know they are grafted at the top to make them weep so if I propagate the limb will it make a weeping cherry tree?

Comments (20)

• carolann_z8
    Original Author
    16 years ago

bump

• PKponder TX Z7B
    16 years ago

I have no idea, but I'll help you bump the topic up again.

Pam

• rick_mcdaniel
    16 years ago

CarolAnn, while my relations in NC grow them, I have no direct experience with them.

My recommendation would be to try it, and see what happens.

You are more daring than I, to try and grow it here.

• carolann_z8
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks Pam.

Rick, if it was something you see everyday I may not want it. They don't call me the fearless gardener for nuthin'. LOL

• pjtexgirl
    16 years ago

You're a brave soul Carol. You inspire me. I'm not jealous that a bunch of stuff that isn't suppossed to grow in TX thrives in your garden because I'm a better person than that:) . PJ

• michellesg
    16 years ago

Let us know if it works. I had a weeping cherry tree (grafted) for about 6 months (we looove weeping trees) and something hit it's trunk and all it's sapped drained out in about 5 days. I was very sad. I had a weeping redbud too but the freeze April of 07 killed it. So far the only weeping tree I've had survive for me is a fruitless mulberry.

• carolann_z8
    Original Author
    16 years ago

LOL...PJ

My plants don't know they don't belong here cause I don't let them read the tag.

Michelle, I saw 2 weeping cherry trees in a yard that were 6 years old and fell in love with them. They were in zone 7 and I'm barely in 8a so I hope they do well.

I have 5 weeping lavender twist redbuds so I'm pretty addicted to weeping trees.

• fool4flowers
    16 years ago