Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blancspons

full sun plants

blancspons
16 years ago

I'm trying to plan a new large bed behind my garage which borders our pool. The area is about 30'x15', I don't know how I'll break that space up yet. It is in full sun. I'm new to Texas, and read on another thread that "full sun" on a plant tag doesn't mean "full sun in Texas." I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on plants and flowers that wouldn't wilt or bake in our sun. Shrubs? Roses? Perennials? I'm open to anything! Thanks in advance.

Comments (19)

• melonhedd
    16 years ago

there are many natives that can handle the full sun. I'm sure you'll get plenty of suggestions. My favorite is lantana - blooms for a long time, perennial, attracts butterflies, gets nice and bushy.

• denisew
    16 years ago

Just be careful you don't get something that blows flowers or berries into your pool - a pain to keep the pool clean and can clog filters.

Autumn sage would be nice planted there along with mealycup sage with its' blue flowers. Rock rose would also be a nice plant for a border that size, but should be towards the back since it can reach 3-4 feet tall. If you want roses, look for the EarthKind roses - Knockout comes in red, pink and a double bloom that is red and stays a reasonable 4 foot tall and wide. Powis Castle Artemesia is also a great plant since it is soft. It might be good along the front border where people will likely brush up against it - you don't want them getting poked with thorns. If the Knockout rose is too big, Perle D'Or is a bit smaller and has apricot/blush colored blooms - very pretty little rose bush. I think a mixture of these plants would offer color through the growing season. You can place some evergreen shrubs along the back - maybe Nellie R. Stevens to anchor the corners and a couple other evergreens as background green color mixed along the back border.

• mandib
    16 years ago