Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
agtx

What is this tree and do I need to prune it?

AGTx
11 years ago

Hey everyone,

I'm new to Texas and new to gardening and have a question: We have these trees in our front yard (see photo) but we don't know what they are.

In summer they had pink blooms that were quite fragrant. Now they are completely bare, not a single leaf remaining, only a few small black and dried balls that used to be the fruit, I assume. When we moved here, it seemed that these trees, along with the rest of the yard, had been largely neglected and left to their own devices. They already had some dry branches without leaves, even in summer.

Do I need to prune these trees before spring comes? If so, how much do I need to cut them back? I've never done this before and I don't want to damage the tree.

Comments (11)

• prsb
    11 years ago

Hi AGTx,

I have been in Tx for a few years and usually the one with questions. So I am really glad I can answer a question for once!

Its a crape mrytle you have here. You'll find much info if you google them. Here's a little prelim: They are smallish ornamental trees that come in all different colors red, shades of pink to pure white. I think they are originally of chinese origin but they do great here in SW and TX. You can't miss them when they finally bloom. I agree they look almost dead from winter to late spring. Its almost summer when they start showing signs of life and then they are magnificient until late fall.

About pruning, mine are really small so I don't prune. I have read about not pruning them too hard but frequently on highways and commercial landscapes I see their dead dry canopy all chopped off. Guess they come back after that. Some if not most varieties like to grow into a shrub. Yours seems to be kept as a tree form and you might have to trim suckers that sprout up to keep the shape. I love the trunk of these trees too. Mine are still little shrubs no trunk to admire yet. Enjoy!
    Pebble