Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dunia77

Lawn - when to start fertilize?

dunia77
15 years ago

Hello,

I live in Metroplex area. I'm total beginner in the Texas gardening issue (I'm from Europe). I bought a house two months ago and now, with this really warm February, I've started to wonder when and how should I start taking care for my backyard, especially for the lawn. I have that very thick grass, I think it's St. Augustine one. Now it's rather yellowish, like dried with only few green "splashes" (I hope it's just because of the winter, nothing more serious?) I don't necessary need this lawn to be prize-winner, but I'd like to to look good (And feel good as well).

Please, any advice is so much welcome :-)

1. When is the best moment to fertilize it for the next season (I have no idea if previous owners did anything for the fall)? What to use?

2. Generally, how to prepare it for the fertilization, for the hot summer here?

3. What to do with the ants? I haven't seen them here yet, but expect that won't last forever. When to prevent them? What and how to use (I have small kid at home)?

I also saw some kind of Crab Grass Killer left by the previous owners in the garage. Well, I looked in the web, saw few pictures and will have probably some troubles with telling the Crab Grass form that St. Augustine one... But that's another story.

Thank you for your help.

Comments (21)

• plantmaven
    15 years ago

The agricultural folks say fertilize after you have had to mow once.

• dunia77
    Original Author
    15 years ago

If so, it seems that it'll be still a while. For me it rather doesn't look like starting to become green and live again.
    But what to use? For this grass type.

• debndal
    15 years ago