Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
leahsurfer

Texas fall cut flowers

leahsurfer
11 years ago

Hey everyone,

I'm in San Marcos and am getting married on Oct 12.

I insist on growing as many of my flowers (and grasses, and foliage) as possible and getting the rest from Arnosky Farms in Blanco. I've been gardening for 9 years so I am feeling pretty confident, although I am mainly a vegetable gardener, but I do grow a lot of perennials to cut from and attract insects.

I am starting a variety of things from seed to supplement the perennials that I already have and know that I can depend on.

Here's what I have established already:
Texas betony
echinacea
purple sage
purple fountain grass
lady's slipper (for bouquet)
fall aster (not sure if it will be blooming by then though - fingers crossed!)
knock out roses (hoping to harvest the blooms that aren't fully open yet)
bulbine
butterfly weed
coral vine
batface cuphea
bottle brush
lantana
lion's tail
shrimp plant
fall obedient plant
beauty berry
gaura
mistflower
skyflower
lavender, rosemary, and other herbs.

...I have used a lot of these things as cut flowers before, but not all. For the above plants- do you have any tips on encouraging more flowers, or when to harvest, or storing, drying, pruning, anything?

Others I plan to use that I am starting from seed now: zinnias
cosmos
cotton
strawflower (if it blooms sooner i can just dry it?)
amaranth (globe, elephant head, hot biscuits, love lies bleeding)
dichondra (good for bouquet)
Texas bluebells
marigolds
agastache (rose mint)
powder puff aster
sunflowers (including mexican torch)
balsam (old fashioned)
chinese lantern

What am I missing that you love to grow as a cut flower? What are your tips and tricks?

I know some of these things might bloom before the heat of the summer sets in, and my thinking is that if I prune, mulch well, and compost, I can encourage them to bloom again as soon as the temps dip below 95! yeah?