Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
liveletlive

fig trees in Houston area

liveletlive
11 years ago

Hello All,
My first post here. I am new to Houston/clear Lake area.
I would love to know if it is at all possible to grow figs here.
What varieties have you had success with?
I have planted a Satsuma orange so far and would also like to know from experts about other quick growing fruit trees
I am grateful for your help.
Thanks

Comments (7)

• soaht
    11 years ago

You might want to try getting some Texas lemon fig cuttings or plants, if you can find them. I recently got some Texas lemon fig cuttings from a lady in San Antonio, Tx. She said it was originally found growing naturally by a bank somewhere in Texas, so I think that variety should do fine for you. A lot of the southern state likes growing celeste and brown turkey for their hardiness and easy growing habit. There are just too many fig varieties to try and think of one that will do well in your area. Try looking through the fig forum and posting your question there also. Many fig enthusiast are there and will know which one is best for your area. Also try the figs4fun forum page ask them there too.

• beachplant
    11 years ago

never heard of lemon fig and I`ve lived in Texas forever. Pretty much any fig will do well here, they love our climate. Most of the nurseries in our area carry a good selection of figs. LSU developed a bunch and they are readily available, just do a google search.
    Come to one of our plant swaps, there are tons of people in this area that grow figs and will be happy to bring you cuttings!
    Tally HO!

• Lin barkingdogwoods
    11 years ago

Texas Agrilife Extension has a good article on growing figs in Texas - see link below.

From what I've read, you want a variety that has a closed eye (vs. open eye). The varieties that I've seen doing very well here in northeast Texas are Texas Everbearing, Brown Turkey, and Celeste. You probably have more options in the Houston area.

Lin