Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tejs_gw

Long blooming perennials for Dallas

tejs
13 years ago

I am a newbie to Gardening and I am planning to start with some long blooming perennials for my front and backyard. Backyard is south facing so gets plenty of sun through out the day. Front yard is mostly shady.

Any recommendations from experts on the best long blooming perennials for Dallas (Zone 7 ??).

TIA

Comments (10)

• lou_spicewood_tx
    13 years ago

Roses are one examples. Checkout Earthkind roses. I much prefer Ducher rose of all due to much less thorns.

Salivas are good ones too.

Perennial Plants (http://texassuperstar.com/plants/index.html)

Texas Gold Columbine
    Flare Hibiscus
    Lord Baltimore Hibiscus
    Moy Grande Hibiscus
    New GoldTM Lantana
    Trailing Lantana
    Malvaviscus, Turks Cap
    Dwarf Mexican Petunia
    John Fanick Phlox
    Victoria Phlox
    Plumbago
    Mexican Bush Sage
    'Henry Duelberg' Salvia
    'Mystic Spires Blue' Salvia
    Blue Princess Verbena

For shady area with filtered sun - it's hard to say no to Encore azaleas (as long as it is in raised well drained acidic soil).

• tejs
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks lou_midlothian_tx

I got some Encore azaleas but I was not sure if they would bloom in my front yard as it faces north and the flower board is right next to a fence. So in the morning there will be some sun from east but may be the fence would block direct sun light on to the flowerbeds.. is that ok for azaleas?.
    Also how do I make sure soil is acidic?

• cynthianovak
    13 years ago

Hi Lou
    I have a number of azaleas. Which Encores did your get? The ones I've had best results with or the Amethyst (purple) and the Salmon. I got Monarch and another orange and have not been as pleased. In fact...my favorite azaleas are the spring bloomers rather than the Encores.