Return to the Texas Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Aster issues

Posted by zitro_joe 8 (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 28, 13 at 0:28

For all of March this thing was a flower machine, now it has really been making duds.

This month the leaves have been showing up with these yellow/bronze stripes. Then this fuzz is made a presence. I am unfamiliar withe asters as this is my first year to grow them.

I have supplemented with a 'blooming' with iron and magnesium as instructed since these issues showed up.

Anyone have some advice? Thank you.

zJoe

photo DSC_0449_zpsf755a16f.jpg
 photo DSC_0448_zpsbb1032b7.jpg
 photo DSC_0444_zps841f52d9.jpg
 photo DSC_0443_zpsaad663c7.jpg

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Aster issues

I've never grown asters, but the grey spots look like mildew. I don't know what the brown streaks are from. There are native asters. Most have very small flowers though.. Maybe that variety just doesn't like our climate.

o

I only have the fall blooming native aster and I don't have any problems with those.

o

I don't think those are asters. Take your picture to a good nursery and ask.
Maybe mislabeled.
Looks like osteospermum, but the leaf is not the same.

o

You know, Kathy, you may be right.........they do look a lot like the pericallis I purchased this year, and I believe they are known as cool weather plants. Here are some images from Google.........hope it works.
http://www.google.com/search?q=pericallis&hl=en&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=_9F9Uen4FumP2gXbjoDQBg&sqi=2&ved=0CDQQsAQ&biw=936&bih=462

o

Pericallis! That has to be it. That looks exactly like what it is. Maybe it was in the wrong spot.

Thanks.

o

Let us know if moving it helps, Joe. This is my first year growing them so I put them in containers to be able to move them around to the proper amount of sun. So far, a few hours seems to be working.

o

carrie, found this...
http://senetti.com/gardeners/how-to-grow-better/