Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nate82_gw

Worst plant to deal with

nate82
10 years ago

What has been the worst plant that you have had to deal with? Mine was the monkey grass that the previous home owner had as a boarder. My wife and I couldn't get rid of it fast enough.

Comments (16)

• zzackey
    10 years ago

Yuccas. They are very sharp anywhere you touch them. I guess that's why they are called Spanish Bayonets!

• roselee z8b S.W. Texas
    10 years ago

Purple heart (Tradescantia pallida). It took me years to get rid of where I'd planted it in the ground, but I love it in a pot.

• nate82
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Roselee your garden is awesome. I saw it on central texas gardener. My grandmother had Purple Heart and it was very aggressive.

• gardenper
    10 years ago

This is my first year growing purple heart outside of a container. I'll have to see how it goes on how aggressive it is. Good info to know.

My plants are just those vines that you can't fully dig out but you want them out of the particular area. You pull and tug and things look good for a while but as the growing season goes and everything looks green so the vine is camouflaged, you don't notice it until it has re-established itself.

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    10 years ago

The mint that the previous owner planted. It's everywhere now.

Linda

• roselee z8b S.W. Texas
    10 years ago

Nate, thank you! :-)