Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maxlife92

Need help with watering basics, please!

maxlife92
11 years ago

I have just fenced up my very first garden whih consists of three 10ftx4ftx1ft beds. I am doing it organically with a soil,compost,and worm castings. I plan to do one bed with kabocha squash seeds,and the other two with starter plants such as tomatoes,cucumbers,etc. the plot is under a tree but will be getting quite a bit of sunlight.

My question is how do I go about watering the squahsh seeds after i plant them to tonight?the starter plants? All I have is a hose, and I do have a sprinkler attachment thong(shld I use that vs hand holding the hose?) and how long do i water it for (daily?) I've read 1in per week but how do you know?

Lots of questions,but I'm a beginner and I don't wanna screw up!

Thanks soooo much!

Comments (3)

• daninthedirt (USDA 9a, HZ9, CentTX, Sunset z30, Cfa)
    11 years ago

Well, the basic rule of watering is, if the mature plant looks a bit wilted, or slightly peaked, and the soil hasn't gotten water for a while, and the surface is completely dry, then water. Where to water? That's simple. Where the roots are. For seeds or little seedlings, the roots are at the seed or under the stem. Just put your hose there and GENTLY put water on for a few minutes. Straight down the stem. Over the seed. I'm assuming you didn't plant the seeds in bone dry soil.

For larger plants, the roots are likely pretty much under the drip line, which is the extent to which the foliage reaches out, projected onto the ground. You can water with a small sprinkler, or a hose with a sprayer. Don't worry about getting the foliage wet. Let the top layer dry out before you water again. You can stick your finger an inch into the soil and see if it's moist there. If it is, you can wait on the water if everyone looks happy. For seeds, keep the surface a bit damp until they're well sprouted.