Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bostedo

Any luck with goldenball leadtree in north Texas?

Does anyone have any experience with goldenball leadtree (leucaena retusa) as far north as DFW? Appears it should do fine here, but figure there must be some reasons for not seeing them used more in the area.

Here is a link that might be useful: Goldenball leadtree at wildflower.org

Comments (40)

• freshair2townsquare
    10 years ago

I found one at Marshall Grain in G'vine, and it looked pretty puny. The wildflower site mentions brittle branches that require pruning, so that may be a problem. Its on the plant list for this weekend's sale at the Discovery Gardens.

But I have no personal experience.

• Tayinnawin_Nell
    10 years ago

There is a very successful specimen at the A&M research facility at Coit & George Bush Turnpike, unless it was ripped out when they demolished their community garden and demo garden.

The reason you never see any is because they are relatively unknown - which is a shame because they are great trees. You can special order one from Shades of Green. They are your best bet for more unique TX natives, such as Mexican Buckeye (got mine there!) and Texas Kidneywood (ditto x 2). All 3 of these trees grow surprisingly well from seed.

• bostedo: 8a tx-bp-dfw
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the affirmations. I've found info on this tree to be a bit muddled - even wildflower.org has it listed as evergreen; don't believe this is the case (at least north of San Antonio), but would be glad if it were true. Just cast doubt on whether the info was solid enough to believe the tree can be reliable this far north of its native range. Seems like a nice flowering Texas native and am looking forward to trying it here.