Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clipetyclop

What Vegetables to Grow in Dallas

clipetyclop
16 years ago

I'm new to TX and also to gardening- Hoping in 2 weeks to build a raised bed so for now here is what I have in pots:

Herbs:

Sage

Lavender

Rosemary

Basil

Veggies:

Cucumber

Yellow Onion

Red Onion

Garlic

Bell Pepper

Jalapenos

Eggplant

What else could I consider? I was thinking perhaps Tomatoes - is it too hot for lettuces to grow? even if they had shade?

Also- What grows well here in the fall and when would I need to start planting it?

Comments (16)

• element321
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I would try Tomatoes, the lettuces do not do to well. You might be able to get some micro greens in before it gets to hot.I am gonna try salad greens soon.

I will also be trying carrots as well. Those are suppose to be pretty easy.

• xeriscaper
    16 years ago

whatever you do, don't plant a lot of squash or bird house gourds. Apparantly these grow exceptionally well in Dallas area. I made the mistake of planting a lot of seeds several years ago. I was so sick of eating squash and tried to give it away, but after awhile my neighbors and family members were sick of it too.My neighbors hated seeing me coming to their house. The bird house gourds took over my fence and for the next several years I was having to pull up seedlings in the Spring. I had enough gourds to supply the entire 3rd grade of my kids' elementary school.
    Other good summer growers are : tomatoes, onions, peppers, ocra, beans. I like to get my seeds from Feed Stores, they have a good choice of things and can give good advice too.
    Don't know how big your yard is, but fruit trees do very well in this area too: peaches, pears, plums, persimmon, pecan.

• clipetyclop
    Original Author
    16 years ago

OMG ok good to know- stay AWAY from squash. I contemplated it for HALF a second and thought - I better REALLY like squash! so i passed.