Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jonnn_gw

Central Texas Vermicomposting Outside?

jonnn
11 years ago

I've been doing vermacomposting inside for the last 6 months. Like most people who are new to worms, I overfed and have had a fruit fly explosion. I moved the bin outside for awhile and have moved it inside as I thought it will be getting too hot for the worms (Reg Wigglers).

Does anyone keep their worms outside in the shade during the summer? I figure the worms would just dig deeper into the soil but even then over time I would think that would get too hot for them.

My other thought is to build a little box for them in my garden and use that as a central depository for food scraps. They can come and go as they please and they'll stay cool and moist beneath all the mulch I have down.

Comments (3)

• Perylene
    11 years ago

I would think it's a bad idea, but maybe someone who's successful at it could chime in. My outdoor bins made it through summer two years ago, but I learned the hard way last year that a red worm's upper heat tolerance is 95 F before die off. Really helpful vermicomposters suggested that all my worms 'vaporized' (yikes!) during the heat wave, even with my daily ice packs and extra monitoring of moisture levels, so from now on my bins are spending the dead of summer indoors. Keep in mind any food, decomposing bedding, microbial activity, and the humidity of your bin will also create additional heat on top of your outdoor temperatures!

I know Bentley over at redwormcomposting.com does something called vermicomposting trenches outdoors around his gardens. I haven't read much about it, but I'd like to think that a trench would stay cooler below ground than a small box or pile above. Then again, you could have problems with fire ants moving in?

• shebear
    11 years ago