Return to the Texas Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bur Oak Planting Problems (Too much water?)

Posted by Daniel_Decker Texas (My Page) on
Sun, May 13, 12 at 10:50

Hi, this is my first time posting here, so keep in mind I'm a noob.

Last Saturday (5/5/12) I planted a 5" caliper, 18-20' tall Bur Oak in my back yard. It was B&B and had been out of the ground for close to a month. The root ball was 50" across and 3' deep, tapered.

It has been just over a week since I planted the tree, and now I am worried that something is wrong. The leaves are all turning brown and shriveling. We have had a crazy amount of rain since I planted it, not to mention I watered it like crazy the day that I planted it. Would this be as a result of too much water?

This is my first time planting a tree, so I really have no clue. I definitely don't want it to die, so please help.

I have posted pictures here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/20807577@N07/sets/72157629707692920/

If there is a way to post them here, let me know. Thanks!

Here is a link that might be useful: Pictures

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bur Oak Planting Problems (Too much water?)

Hey Daniel,
I haven't myself planted a tree that large, but I suspect that your tree is suffering from transplant shock. I am providing a link to a a Mr. Smarty Plants question and answer that may be helpful to you. Basically, it will indicate that in Texas, generally, you should plant trees in the winter, as when they are dormant they are less likely to suffer from transplant shock. It also has some tips on how you might be able to save your tree. I hope this helps, and good luck on saving it, bur oaks are magnificent trees.

Here is a link that might be useful: Planting a tree in Texas

o

Where did you acquire this tree? Surely they can give you some advice. I always thought trees of this size had to be held in burlap for a year or two to give them time to regrow their system of feeder roots.

o