Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roxietexas

Lawn, blue asters and other perennials are dying

RoxieTexas
11 years ago

Help! I'm just in from working in the garden/yard this morning and I'm heartsick. Last year I bought this beautiful cottage home replete with a beautiful garden of native and/or drought tolerant plantings -the home of my dreams.

Less than one year later, I seem to be losing the St. Augustine lawn, the blue asters are crispy stems, and several other of the perennials (pin cushion and sun drop plant) are dying from the inside out. I can't believe this garden has gone from being the "Garden of the month" to this mess in such a short time. I'm not a complete newbie, but I don't have a clue as to what could be wrong nor how to fix it. The prior owner was an organic gardener and I prefer to remain that way as well.

Any ideas as to where to start?

Comments (20)

• ogrose_tx
    11 years ago

Can you post some pictures of the damage?

• whitecap2
    11 years ago

WATER! . . .Water . . .(gasp) water . . .

• eltex
    11 years ago

I don't understand. It's may 5th, so surely you have seen this progression right? It couldn't have happened overnight. It sounds like you need to water, but is that all? Have you side dressed the perennials? St Augustine is noted for requiring water and can't be ignored.

• carrie751
    11 years ago

Agree...........WATER !!!!!!!!!!!!

• roselee z8b S.W. Texas
    11 years ago

A lot of us grew to depend on the spring rains and got complacent about watering, but once the rains stopped and the temperature went up it didn't take long to realize we have to water if we want to keep things alive.

• aufelipe
    11 years ago

In the DFW area, after a wet early Spring, we have not had significant rain in three weeks. . .

• tx_ag_95
    11 years ago