Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
txmarti

What is over your septic tanks?

TxMarti
12 years ago

I have tried the following

grass - did great until it got really hot and then there were 3 round dead spots in the yard

sedum - a little better than grass, but hard to keep weeds out

morning glory grown on a teepee trellis over the tanks - they did great but weeds went wild inside the teepee.

Then I decided phooey on growing stuff and covered it with gravel and a few big rocks to make a dryscape. Worked great until we had to have the tanks cleaned out, and then what a mess

Currently I have big pavers over it just so I can see where it is when I'm mowing (one lid is cracked from a long horn stepping on it) so I won't drive over it.

There has GOT to be something that looks good and is easy to get to the tanks.

But what is it?

Comments (32)

• wexy1000
    12 years ago

I hope someone has an answer. I'm new to septic tanks and I can't get anything to grow so far. I've only tried st Augustine and winter rye, but neither did worth a flip.

• plantmaven
    12 years ago

I had one at my previous home. I included in it the mulched area I put in the front yard. That way it just looked like mulch. It is the mulched area to the right of the gazingball and behind the red bud tree.

• TxMarti
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Plantmaven, I had thought of mulch, but mine is in such an odd spot that I would have to mulch a good bit of the backyard to make it look like it was natural. Still might though. Did you have plastic or landscape fabric under it? And if so, how did you make it possible to have access to the tanks?

• roselee z8b S.W. Texas
    12 years ago

Kathy, it's really hard to look at the mulch because my eyes keep going to the lily! :-) But mulch does sound like a good idea.