Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ker_austin

Shrub for Austin and Anacacho orchid tree question

ker_austin
9 years ago

Hi - I am new with a couple of questions. We are landscaping our front yard, which is currently bare except for a large sycamore that provides dappled shade throughout the day. We are in Austin and the house faces south.

I am looking for a shrub to go next to the front door (in a soon-to-be created bed). Single story house with a couple of steps up to the door. I have searched everywhere and apparently the perfect mix of flowers in the summer but keeps its leaves in winter is hard to come by! I am considering a golden thryallis, but it seems that reviews are mixed as to whether it will keep its leaves in winter in Austin. It probably wants more sun than it will get there, but the spot does get some afternoon sun and dappled the rest of the day.
Any ideas?

Also, does anyone have experience with the Anacacho Orchid Tree? (different spot). How close to the house can it go? Or can it grow in a container?

Thanks!

Comments (11)

• runjbells
    9 years ago

I have both plants you are referring to. My thryallis has lost its leaves the past two winters and is coming back from the roots this year. It is planted in full sun and gets a bit wilty. I suspect it would do better with morning sun and afternoon shade, and I plan to move it to a new location. It is beautiful when in bloom. The Anacacho Orchid is awesome! Very very drought tolerant, can be pruned to a tree or left like a shrub, white spring flowers, and interesting leaves. It loses its leaves in the winter (and mine actually died back by about 6 inches this year), but it's coming back strong. Mine has been in the ground about 3 years and is about 6 feet tall.

• ker_austin
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for the information! It sounds like the thryallis might not be right for this spot, but I will keep it in mind for a different location. (Did you get it at Natural Gardener? ).