Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aaf_479

New to Texas gardening

aaf_479
9 years ago

Hello,
We are a military family and are new to the area. I am in San Antonio and I would appreciate ANY tips anyone has for vegetable gardening in this region. I love growing my own veggies. I have been gardeining for about 7 yrs now, but only in Maryland and Northern New York. ANYTHING will be helpful no matter how common sense it may seem. I have heard that there are 2 plantng seasons (early spring and fall) and that some plants just will not produce in the summer (ie: tomatoes). Again, any pearls of wisdom and tidbits would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

Comments (37)

• wantonamara Z8 CenTex
    9 years ago

HI, welcome to our fair state.
    It is a little late right now to start anything for summer with the exception of cow peas and okra. Tomatoes can go in starting in July, So it is not long. Fall is a big time for growing and you will love winter gardening. One puts in the fall garden in the heat of august. Deemcrazy , an act of faith in that dreaded dry heat but then the summer breaks just a little and the land wakes up . It is time now to prep your spot for a fall garden. Get a soil test and do some amendments
    and get dirty. I use a frost cover for the bad cold fronts and it is a breeze. I have vegetables all through the winter. It is my biggest and easiest time to garden. That will seem weird to you but Winter gardening is the best.

We have a great plant swap in the Fall in San antonio so keep your eyes pom the exchanges section. You will see an announcement.

You know, I better keep my mouth shut because SAN AN has different dates than Austin where I am.

Here is a link that might be useful: Plant schedule

• aaf_479
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you!! I appreciate any and all tips. I just found out that a local nursery is having a "class" about insects on the 28th and I am definately going!!!

• wantonamara Z8 CenTex
    9 years ago