Return to the Texas Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Everything is dying!

Posted by Sun-n-Clay 7 - TX (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 27, 11 at 19:55

Hi everyone,

Newbie here! I'm in the DFW area and this is my second year attempting a vegetable garden. The first year I did okay and harvested collard greens, tomatoes and peppers until I left town for a few days and came back to a dead garden.

This year I moved to a new house and have been here every day, and everything is dying. I planted a variety of tomatoes and peppers in the ground, Kennebec potatoes in bags and boxes on the ground, strawberries in pots, basil in the ground and in pots, and eggplants in pots. I got my plants from Calloways and Ace Hardware. My son killed my strawberries when he watered with a high-powered hose setting (grrr!). The tomatoes and peppers produced a few but died off in this crazy heat. My potatoes appeared to be doing well and I piled soil on them as instructed but now they are all dead. The only thing doing well are the eggplants.

I have clay soil, so I used raised beds filled with Miracle-Gro soil, bagged top soil, bagged compost and crushed leaves from my trees. I put the beds in full sun, but now I think the full sun has fried my plants. There is no sign of disease or bugs, just dry brown leaves.

What should I do next year to get a bountiful garden?
What should I plant and where?
Should I use my shade areas?
What do I do with this blazing sun?
When and how often should I water in this heat?

I would really appreciate any advice as I am determined to make this work next year. I actually hoping to plant something for the fall - any advice on that?

Thanks for reading this long post. I hope you can help me turn my brown thumb green!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Everything is dying!

I have a small raised bed for tomatoes and it was too successful for me and it gets a lot of mid-day sun.