Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aaf_479

Mid day wilting??

aaf_479
9 years ago

My husband waters (fairly well) before he leaves for work at around 7am everyday. By lunch time my 4ft tall AND 2ft tall cucumber plants leaves are wilting. They do get full sun until around 3pm. They are on a trellis that is up against a fence. Is this normal? I'm still new to gardening here in Texas and never has this happen in NY . I'm concerned about heat stress ruining the flavor of my cucumbers or killing the plants completely. I also usually water around 4 or 5pm with this heat and lack of rain we've been having lately. We've watched storms pass by us or disappear before getting here, but no rain to speak of here in Windcrest. Any help or suggestions are welcome. Thanks

Comments (12)

• MKull
    9 years ago

Do the leaves return to normal after the sun passes? Wilting is a natural defense mechanism. By wilting they lower the surface area, allowing less evaporation. When they cool down they bounce back. If they bounce back pretty quick, I wouldn't worry too much about it. Does it affect the flavor? I can't answer that one but I'm confident someone else will.

• Lynn Marie
    9 years ago

Welcome to Texas and forget everything you learned about gardening in NY. Yes, I'm sure your cucumbers will be fine like mkull above said. I doubt the taste will be affected because lots of people grow them around here in these conditions. Carrots, on the other hand, are an entirely different story!

• daninthedirt (USDA 9a, HZ9, CentTX, Sunset z30, Cfa)
    9 years ago

"Welcome to Texas and forget everything you learned about gardening in NY."

That statement ought to be gilded and framed.

It is quite astonishing reading through the advice in the general Gardenweb Veggie forum, and thinking -- holy cow, they sure don't live in Texas!

• dbarron
    9 years ago