Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bedford8a

6X12 bare area - ideas for tight $$

bedford8a
11 years ago

I am a teacher and in two weeks I need to get a garden bed presentable for an open house before school begins. We usually use this area as a vegetable garden, but the grounds crew pulled out EVERYTHING(mulch, lirope border, etc.) leaving only bare ground!

I need a temporary "display" because the area will be planted by students in late September. I suggested a bird bath or wire sculptures from Big Lots to fill the space to the principal. She says we are on a tight budget so don't spend much.

Do you have any ideas? The soil has already been amended, the garden is irrigated and it gets 6 hours of sun daily.

Thanks so much in advance.

Comments (12)

• sienna_98
    11 years ago

Perhaps some end of season plants? Lowe's and I'm sure other places has a clearance table where the plants are 75% off, so they are relatively inexpensive. Plus, since you only need them for about 6 - 8 weeks, then the fact that they are end of the season items will make the timing right and you won't mind pulling them for the student's plantings.

• weldontx
    11 years ago

Since it will be a student garden, why not make it "look" like a garden. Would the grounds crew till the soil and make rows in the soil? With ALL that time you have with prep and inservice (Joke, Joke) take 4 X 6 index cards and make row markers. Tomato, Lettuce, Beets, Marigold, etc. and put them at the end of each row. Some store might even donate packets of seeds that could be stapled to a tongue depresser and pushed into the soil. Do you know a landscaper? He might have "extra" pots of plants that he'd donate.
    AND please know that you are appreciated. Keep up the good work.

• PKponder TX Z7B
    11 years ago