Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
julia42

Is it possible to have no-spray roses in Houston?

julia42
13 years ago

Sorry - the transfer of my first post didn't work right...

I'm new to all this - I just moved to Houston and bought my first house with my first yard, first garden, and first roses. My husband and I had great dreams of keeping a no-spray yard since we have small kids, and did research into how to make that possible.

I was excited to see that our yard came with a lovely well-established Belinda's Dream rose bush, which I read is very disease and pest resistant, Texas Superstar, Earthkind, blah blah blah. We also had some hybrid Teas which I took out and a Sombreuil climber which I left. I added another Belinda's Dream and a regular Knockout rose.

I didn't do much through the summer other than appropriate light pruning, dead-heading, removal of leaves at the base of plants, and removal of the occasional spotty leaf. I watered at the base (not on the leaves)and hand removed the occasional bug.

About a week ago, the original BD got a bad case of stink bugs. I got rid of them using a combination of a dishsoap solution and removing of the affected blooms of the plants (which had lots of bugs on them). The bush looked pretty sad at that point, but did okay for a couple days until every single leaf on it was suddenly covered in blackspot. Then the other BD got blackspot. Then my Knockout got blackspot. The only rose at this point that looks reasonably attractive is my Sombreuil, which is the only one that's NOT an Earthkind Texas Superstar.

Did I do something wrong or does the no-spray thing not really work in Houston where the whole summer is at about 95% humidity? I see knockout roses all over in commercial landscaping. I know they're not as carfully cared for as mine - are they likely sprayed roses? Should I just expect these hardy roses to occasionally defoliate from blackspot but then come back?

Thanks for any info you might provide!

Comments (9)