Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ruthz_gw

Fall veggies for DFW area

ruthz
12 years ago

I'm tired of watering dries up tomato plants so I'm going to yank them out and start seeds for chinese napa cabbage, spinach and maybe cucumbers.

Anybody have suggestions (from experience) for the best kind for this area.

I've never tried growing spinach before.

Monstrueux De Viroflay Spinach is supposed to be good for fall planting per the info on package.

I tryed a hybrid napa cabbage last fall, but it didn't set heads well.

Comments (7)

• Lin barkingdogwoods
    12 years ago

Ruth, I've never tried growing any of these veggies. I have had great luck with collards (from the feed store, marked "Georgia"). They often lasted through the summer into the next fall.

My friends in Keller have had a continuing crop from Bright Lights swiss chard - it tasted good well into the summer (probably early July). That's one I'll plant for sure.

Lin

• gardenspice
    12 years ago

Not much happening in my garden, just trying to keep the peppers alive and hoping for a Fall crop before the first freeze.
    I have had mixed luck with spinach, but great luck with chard. The star of my Fall /winter garden is a wide variety of lettuces, but I direct sow those starting in late September.
    I've also had good luck with transplants of cauliflower and brocolli, (various varieties) and snow peas, but I'd check the Ag Extension page for your area for best time to plant. Nothing is going in my garden for at least a month.

• ruthz
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Lin, I had Swiss Chard growing between my peppers, but we have a new 23 mo. old puppy (65 lbs) that is digging holes everywhere. My chard and lots of other stuff is now MIA.
    I find empty chewed up pots with no plants.
    I want to try spinach because it's one of Dan's favorites and we both love Chinese cabbage.
    gardenspice, I know what you mean with your peppers.