Return to the Texas Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Start artichoke from seed now?

Posted by jlgarden 8 Austin (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 4, 11 at 20:14

Is it too late to start seeds now or should I wait until winter and start seeds indoor? Will artichokes do well in central Texas?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Start artichoke from seed now?

Wow. I would LOVE to grow artichokes, but didn't know if they would grow well here. We grew them in Las Gatos California, but weather there was so much milder.

Let me know what you find out...

o

This is what I've found so far about growing artichokes in Texas. It looks like you might be able to do it very well in fall and winter in Austin, especially if you had something to cover the plants should it get too cold. Maybe you could plant them in big pots, and bring them inside should it get too cold?

http://southwestfarmpress.com/can-artichokes-bring-new-heart-texas-agriculture

Please note, I have NO practical experience growing artichokes.

o

Thank you for the response and the link.
I should get my seeds this week and give it a try. From what I have read, artichoke will come back in spring if I give it good mulching and prevent the root from frozen.

o

I just got mine in today, imperial star. I have grown them for about 6 plus yrs now. This is a good time to start your seeds, indoors, unless your a/c is out.

For me they overwinter nicely and usually get first choke in March. They can handle cold temps but should be protected some for hard freezes. I grow mine in front yard, they make nice landscape plants.

o

Oops I did not mean to post with my email address, hope that post can be deleted by a MOD. I will repost here.

I just got mine in today, imperial star. I have grown them for about 6 plus yrs now. This is a good time to start your seeds, indoors, unless your a/c is out.