Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dfwmom_gw

Native plants - Brown thumb here

DFWmom
12 years ago

Hi all! I don't know much about gardening but I am willing to learn. I would like to get some Texas native plants in my flowerbeds and/or pots. I need plants/flowers that require little attention. I appreciate any suggestions. The only thing I haven't killed in my yard are Lantanas & my sage bushes but I'm not sure that is saying much. I'm a pretty much a beginner.

Comments (18)

• pjtexgirl
    12 years ago

You just described gardening. Try stuff until you find what you can grow. What one person might find impossible another person finds easy. Rule of thumb keep xeric plants (lantana and sages) separate from water loving hybrids/plants. Keep plants that need more water closer to the house and water.

• bjb817
    12 years ago

Pj said it all. I moved here from a northern clime and I killed more than my fair share of innocent plants trying to figure out what works.

I'm down in the Austin area, but we both have similar alkaline soils for the most part, I think.

In addition to Lantana and Sage (Cenizo) which are indeed easy to grow, I've had much success with Cherry Sage, Mealy Blue Sage, Rock Rose, Flame Acanthus (careful on that-pops up everywhere), Four Nerve Daisy and Mountain Laurel. Those are a few natives off the top of my head that seem to thrive on minimal care.

• debndal
    12 years ago

Ditto on all bjb mentioned - I would also add Turk's cap sun or shade, pigeonberry mostly shade, red yucca sun, lindheimers muhley (an ornamental grass) partial sun, and not native but well adapted, Russian sage sun, to the list.

• wantonamara Z8 CenTex
    12 years ago