Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenica_gw

How the heck do you grow vegetables in TX

jenica
11 years ago

I moved to TX, specifically the DFW area, from TN last year and this is my first year trying to grow vegetables here. Man oh man what a dismal harvest so far. I am far from an inexperienced gardener and have had wonderfully productive gardens in TN and NJ. The only thing that I think I'll be able to call a success this year is my green bell peppers. The plants are super healthy and now that it is cooling off they are starting to set fruit. The tomatoes are flowering profusely but giving me a pitiful harvest. I'm guessing I need a better variety there. The cucumbers seemed to have been attacked by a virus since they turned yellow and then died.

So what tips would you give a new Texas vegetable gardener? What are your favorite vegetable varieties? What pests and viruses should I be on the lookout for? Are there certain things that are just not worth the trouble or other things that are super easy? Any other tips or tricks that make it easier to grow vegetables successfully here?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Comments (17)

• ogrose_tx
    11 years ago

I have about the same luck as you, Jenica, can't seem to do well with any of the vegetables.

Now my son, on the other hand, gets great results. He has raised beds with good soil, and grows just about anything he wants, gets bumper crops! Don't know if this is the difference or not, but seems to work for him.

• beachplant
    11 years ago

local master gardeners, they will help you with crops for your area, when to plant, what to plant. bout the only thing grows in summer here is okra, watermelon and okra. I just put in tomatoes a couple of weeks ago and this week they have started growing. Time to put in radishes, lettuce, broccoli, cauliflower, etc. for fall. Mulch, compost, mulch, compost, mulch, compost....
    Welcome to Texas!

Tally HO!

• carrie751
    11 years ago