Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
myjasminebaby

I need help, please!

myjasminebaby
11 years ago

I am very new to gardening. I have a few potted plants that manage to survive with me, but I haven't really had the opportunity to get into gardening.

I live in very hot North Houston. I rent, but this place is so plain that it's boring me. I don't want to invest a ton of money. I would *love* to have a vegetable garden, but we are right next to a nature center/park that is full of animals. Our main pests are raccoons. I can't even keep them out of my trash, I know they will eat any food out there. But i would like to have flowers...espeically flowers to cut so I can put them in vases around the house throughout the year.

So, I need help figuring out what will survive the excrutiating heat,possible freeze during the winter, which ones to plant so I will have fresh flowers to cut almost all year, with not a whole lot of money. Is that too much to ask? LOL the front of my home is facing west, so it seems for most of the day, the front and back yard is full sun.

Do I plant from seeds, or do I get already potted plants from a nursery/Lowes?

Thanks for any help!

Comments (6)

• greentiger87
    11 years ago

The main enemy of potted plants in Houston (I'm down in Clear Lake) is the intense sun.. it bakes the roots, especially in plastic pots. So if you can invest in large clay pots, it's a really good idea. You can get them for half off starting in a couple weeks at Garden Ridge.

Even better for the heat and your plants are fabric pots (some brand names are Smart Pots, Root Pots, Camo Pots). If you can sew, buy some felt from the fabric store and make your own. Most people just don't like the look of these pots, which is understandable if aesthetics is the major concern.

If your budget is an issue, lean toward flowers you can grow from seed. Here are some of the very easy ones that make good cut flowers -