Return to the Texas Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Complete yard disaster

Posted by mls0323 none (My Page) on
Mon, Sep 16, 13 at 21:29

This is my first time posting and I could use some serious help! Basically, all of the grass in our 4500 sq. ft. yard has been killed (not intentionally) and all we are left with are weeds. Should we be putting fertilizer down or weed control now in order to get the yard ready for spring? I'm pretty sure that we will have to put sod down in the spring, but I want to make sure that the yard is ready and healthy to do so. We originally had bermuda grass. Also, would putting newspaper and mulch help kill the rest of the existing weeds or is that not a good idea now? We also had 3 trees cut down by a lawn company and it doesn't look like they killed the stump, so now we have dozens of crape myrtle saplings sprouting all over our yard now. Any suggestions on how to kill those would also be helpful! Basically, our poor yard is a nightmare.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Complete yard disaster

I have to ask, what killed it? Also, you should understand that Bermuda, this time of year, is naturally brown. It'll come back when it gets moist. So if you killed it (not intentionally) by not watering it, just take a deep breath and wait until spring. Is the grass GONE, or just brown? If it's gone, then that's more serious, and one would have to wonder whether what killed it is still in the soil.

o
RE: Complete yard disaster

Here's my 2 cents :-)

What happened to the bermuda? That stuff is hard to kill even with Roundup. It goes dormant if not watered but usually greens right up with water. You can hit actively growing weeds with weed killer if you want and there are just too many to pull out. Newspaper and mulch will work if you are creating beds or trying to add organic matter before sod but only if the bermuda is truly dead. It will laugh at your feeble attempts to smother it :-)