Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melvalena

Winter Sowing for the New Gardeners

melvalena
12 years ago

If you are new to gardening you may not know about Winter Sowing. Its a little early to start, but its not too early to be getting all your supplies and plans lined up and learning how to do this.

Check out this group, feel free to ask questions there or over here. Be sure to read their FAQ. Its very well written.

I'm no expert, but I have done it with pretty good results.

Here is a link that might be useful: Winter Sowing Forum

Comments (69)

• melvalena
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Great ibheri!!
    The winter sowing forum is very friendly, just like here.
    Feel free to post any questions or comments in either place.

Only problem I have with the winter sowing forum is seeing some of the photos of their beds and flowers!! Its like spring all summer long for them!

Those zone 6, 5, and 4 people like to show off some! :)

• Lin barkingdogwoods
    12 years ago

I'm going to do some more winter sowing, Mel - I tried it a year or so ago and had great luck. I also use my tubs in the summer for starting seeds like rainlilies that I want to keep an eye on.

I'm going to try to sow the seeds a little farther apart since the germination rate is so good. I saw on one of the links you posted that someone is sowing a mere half dozen seeds per container. Yikes! I have some serious need for more containers (and more potting soil!)

Lin

• ibheri
    12 years ago

Lin/melvalena, I had the same question too, how many per container? Also most of the postings in winter sowing are from zones 6/5. I want to wait after christmas.

indu

• melvalena
    Original Author
    12 years ago

If you're going to plant hunk of seedlings sow thickly.

I, for most things, prefer to plant individual plants.