Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
armbarangel

Photos of unknown plants at my Fort Worth house.

armbarangel
13 years ago

I just bought a foreclosed house in Fort Worth. I am very much a beginner gardener, and don't recognize most of what is here. I'm from western NY originally, so I'm more likely to recognize plants from there than from here.

I have photos of trees and shrubs mostly, and a few other things as well. I wish I could identify my holly varieties too. Any help you can provide would be appreciated. Even the things I did identify, I may have misidentified or miscategorized as tree or shrub.

I'm planning on coming to the October 30 plant swap, so if you see anything you're interested in, I'm willing to try to propagate it if you tell me how. (I have no experience with propagation, or maybe I should more accurately say that I have no *successful* experience.)

Here is a link that might be useful: Unidentified Shrubs and other plants

Comments (7)

• armbarangel
    Original Author
    13 years ago

So I guess I can't post links to more than one album in a post?

Here is a link that might be useful: Unidentified Trees

• armbarangel
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Third link:

Here is a link that might be useful: Hollies

• texasflip
    13 years ago

OK, here we go...

weed #1 Smilax, aka greenbriar, a native vine
    shrub #1 Celtis, aka hackberry, a native tree that seeds itself everywhere
    shrub #2 hard to tell, might be cherry laurel, Prunus caroliniana - if the leaves smell like cherries when they are torn, that's it
    vine #1 Cocculus, aka moonseed, a native vine
    shrub #3 Nandina domestica
    shrub #4 is also Nandina
    vine #2 looks like chile pequin, or wild chili pepper, you will know if you touch the opened fruit to your tongue!
    you are right about the lantana
    shrub #5 is hard to tell, but probably Ligustrum sinense, a non-native shrub that pops up everywhere