Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roselee_gw

Satsuma's $18 at Lowe's S. A. 10 and Callaghan

There are a lot of large size Satsuma mandarin trees on sale at half price, $18.00, at Lowe's in San Antonio on Callaghan at IH 10. Some even had oranges on them!

Wondering where in this yard I could possibly find a place to plant one. They are said to need protection when the temps go down in the lower 20s, but Antique Rose Emporium has a couple of large ones growing and producing and I doubt they've had any protection.

Don't buy them all before I get back over there, ya heah? ;-)

They also had lots of pansies for .50 cents.

Here is a link that might be useful: About Satsumas

Comments (10)

• carrie751
    14 years ago

This is my first year growing them, Roselee, but it has been so much fun. I have fifteen oranges on mine .... not bad for a first crop in a container !!!

• roselee z8b S.W. Texas
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I know! I've been reading your post about them. :-) It's just that I didn't want to HAVE to bring them inside for the winter. Nine bougainvilleas are enough to carry inside the overwintering house; those and a few other things.

So how many people are going them outside in San Antonio? Report in now please. With our warmer winters I am trying to convince myself they would make it outside.

Anybody hear any predictions about this winter coming up? Seen any wooly bears, etc. LOL

• roselee z8b S.W. Texas
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Meant to say how many people are 'GROWING' them in San Antonio, in particular those living on the NW side in the Castle Hills area?

• carrie751
    14 years ago

Just that my native pecan tree has more pecans on it this year than ever before ...... is that not a sign of a severe winter????

• roselee z8b S.W. Texas
    Original Author
    14 years ago