Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alaskadiver_gw

When & how to prune in Central Texas?

alaskadiver
17 years ago

Hi everyone:

I'm still learning the subtleties of gardening in Texas since moving here from Alaska several years ago.

Right now I have a rather overgrown garden with a variety of plants that will need some pruning and trimming before spring including:

Wax Myrtles (lots of them)

Crape Myrtles

Burford Hollies

Dwarf Yaupon Hollies

Salvia Greggi

Pride of Houston Yaupon Hollies

Oleander

I also want to re-locate some Pride of Houston Yaupon hollies and plant a couple more Crape Myrtles.

What sort of schedule should I follow to do these tasks? Or, more specifically, how long do I need to wait in this climate to do winter pruning?

Also, is there a recommended method for pruning Salvia greggi? I pruned some back in early July with shears but with mixed results. Some came back with thick blooms, but a couple others died after pruning.

Comments (10)

• eldo1960
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

When posssible, it's best to prune all these in late winter or early spring. Here, maybe the last week of Feb. Pruning now will stimulate new growth which will be harmed by any hard freezes.
    Transplanting will be best done after the first freeze, which could be as late as December.

• BriosaFarm
    17 years ago

eldo1960 is right....plus anything you cut back very much right now will just look bare and twiggy for several months. Be sure and prune the hollies late winter or VERY early spring so you'll get more flowers and berries. Hmmm...never had a salvia greggii die after pruning, but I've certainly set them back by cutting them back too much all at once when they were big and very woody. I guess I've had the best results from just shearing them all over lightly, maybe only 1/4 to a 1/3 back at a time. I'm thinking maybe part of the trick is to not cut back behind where there are leaves?