Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
burntplants

Monarch butterflies for the holidays? Help.

burntplants
12 years ago

Umm...I found a brand-new monarch chrysalis, with a monarch cat hanging upside down right next to it, preparing to turn into it's own chrysalis.

On the up side, they are on the edge of a large pot, which I can move. On the downside, late December in Houston might not be the best for butterflies.

How can I encourage their survival?

Comments (17)

• roselee z8b S.W. Texas
    12 years ago

Hi burntplants. I wish I knew the answer, but since you haven't received a reply on here why don't you present your question to the Butterfly Forum. The folks over there are very knowledgable and experienced and can probably give you some ideas. Let us know what they say.

Here is a link that might be useful: GardenWeb Butterly Forum ...

• bedford8a
    12 years ago

I am a teacher and gardener in Arlington and my class raises Monarchs in the fall. we contribute to the Journey North/South migration project every year.

I would bring the pot with the chrysali into the house where it's warm to speed up their development. In about 7-10 days the adult butterflies will be ready to emerge. Monarch are tough and can fly when the temperature is only 60 degrees or above, so letting them fly away in the afternoon when the air has warmed up is a good idea. Ideally it should be sunny, too.

As for raising them... you can tell when the butterflies are ready to emerge because the chrysalis will turn black. When you can start to see the wings through the chrysalis shell it means the adult is just about to emerge! It happens very fast.