Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sue_in_nyc

Well, I placed my first freakin' zone 4 order! ROSES!.

Sue_in_NYC
19 years ago

These are roses to go in the ground:

1 Louise Odier

1 Mme Isaac Pereire

1 Mme Pierre Oger

2 William Baffin

1 Double delight

2 John Cabot

2 John Davis

4 Rosa rugosa rubra

These will go into pots, and I'll figure out how to over-winter them - no garage.

Duchesse du Brabant

Rosette Delizy

Double Delight

Confetti

Amazone

Lady Hillingdon

I can't find an Etoile de Lyon.

Comments (15)

• lblack61
    19 years ago

Congratulations on your first Z4b order! May they grow vigorously for many years.
    Oh my! You didn't just buy one or two, but a bunch!
    You must be an experienced rose grower.
    I'm a newbie at gardening, and, thereby have sworn myself off from roses because I refuse to be weeping profusely in my garden.
    I'm not brave enough yet to go there.

• giniene
    19 years ago

How nice! Good luck, roses are so beautiful. When they bloom, please post photos, I'd love to see them.

• Sue_in_NYC
    Original Author
    19 years ago

lblack, roses are NOT rocket science.

I tell you what. Buy a William Baffin, keep it away from people it can eat, and see what happens. There are some - like most on my first list, except the boubons - that require almost NO care. Honest. No disease, no pruning, no nuthin'.

I promise pics, Giniene. But the first year I don't expect much bloom - they'll be busy settling in and putting down roots.

Now, deer-repellent companion plantings, anyone?

• Turtle_Haven_Farm
    19 years ago

William Baffin eats people!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?! Hey thanks for the tip, I gota couple of neighbors who might.... hmmm, nevermind. Hee hee - Ellen

• Sue_in_NYC
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Hey, Ellen, they'll naver be able to trace it back to you. ;)

Actually, the big one reputed to be a people eater is Mermaid, but she's far too tender for our area.

Baffin is a very thorny upright Canadian Explorer rose.